Denis Scale

There are 4 scoring/classification system which may be called as "Denis scale". Based on his observations and review of 412 patient with thoracolumbar spine injuries,  Francis Denis have devised his three-column theory and 3 scoring systems.

Then, he coined a classification system solely for sacral fractures:

Denis F: Spinal instability as defined by the three-column spine concept in acute spinal trauma. Clin Orthop 189:65–76, 1984.

Denis F, Davis S, Comfort T. Sacral fractures: an important problem. Retrospective analysis of 236 cases. Clin Orthop Relat Res 1988;227:67–81.

Any comment about this page?
Your feedback is appreciated. Please click here.

Follow & Share Scientific Spine  Bookmark and Share Subscribe

To join Scientific Spine mailing list, click here.

You are here: Scientific SpineSpine Scores > Denis Scale


Try also:
Complete Alphabetical List of Spine Scores