Spinal canal stenosis can be classified in various vays. Below, a brief one is presented.

A. Congenital-developmental stenosis of the spinal canal
  • Achondroplastic stenosis
  • Normal patient with narrowed spinal canal

B. Acquired stenosis of the spinal canal
  • Stenosis due to degenerative changes
  • Stenosis due to degenerative spondylolisthesis
  • Iatrogenic—postfusion stenosis
  • Post-traumatic
  • Miscellaneous skeletal diseases such as Paget's disease, etc.

C. Combined A and B


Arnoldi CC, Brodsky AE, Cauchoix J. et al. Lumbar spinal stenosis and nerve root entrapment syndromes: definitions and classification Clin Orthop. 1976,1154-5 with permission

Any comment about this page?
Your feedback is appreciated. Please click here.

Follow & Share Scientific Spine  Bookmark and Share Subscribe

To join Scientific Spine mailing list, click here.

You are here: Scientific Spine > Spinal Diseases > Spinal Stenosis > Classification of Spinal Stenosis